Today’s Fitness 10-25-16

When i was growing up, my best friend ran track and field for the district. Whenever we’d see her after practice and ask how it went, she would just look at us with this pained expression and say “…I’ve been killed.”

Thats basically how today’s workout went. XD

Pretty much since the beginning of August, before the wedding, i’ve been doing exclusively yoga. I really just wanted the tone and the strength training without altering my body at all, because i already had my dress done and such.
Now, almost three months later, i think i finally have my diet for my thyroid deficiency squared away and i have had loads of energy and focus the last couple days. I decided i really want to get back into weight training.

So today…

i’m doing SarahBeth’s #MorningYogiChallenge this week. This one was a shorter one and it was great! I definitely felt awesome and pumped for whatever i got next.

Same deal. Got my heart rate up and ready to go.
I started with Autumn Calabrese’s Dirty 30 workout from the 21-Day-Fix. It’s one of my favorites and a good hard-hitter for everything so i could kinda see where i was at.
The good news definitely was that the consistent yoga has definitely helped with my consciousness of my body; i’m not just flailing around 60 seconds at a time with a 15 second break in between. I really focused on form and breathing, “taking my yoga off the mat” as Sarah says! I also saw great improvement in overall muscle tone, ease in holding positions and focusing on what my body can handle on a given day and not forcing my way thru with bad form. Modification is okay, especially when you haven’t done something in 3 months!

By this point in time, i didn’t even want to cool down. My stomach hurt and my whole body felt like it was dying. I really struggled to be calm, slow my breathing and focus on relaxing my body after an hour of work. (10-15-30) Once i got towards the end, i was all set, but during the first couple minutes, i definitely felt myself rushing, and pushing and preparing my body for it, and i didn’t need to at all! I just needed to relax.

I’ve also recently discovered that my low thyroid causes my muscles to be extra sore, even after a normal workout, so i’m writing this from the comfort of the bathtub with some Biggs and Featherbelle bath salts in it. 🙂

I’ve had 16 oz of water already, and i’d like to get in at least 20 more before i leave for work in a few hours. My post-workout go-to recently is hot detox tea with a couple splashes of coconut milk in it, for the fat. (I’ll be posting more about my low-thyroid diet and how i’ve been trying to compensate for that without the use of synthetic thyroid hormone pills).

So, all in all, a 10/10!! Nobody ever regrets working out. I’m super thankful for new motivation and the focus will definitely be to stick with it:

Yoga every day, per the norm.
New full-fat, low-processed-sugar/artificial-sweetener diet
Weight training with the 21-Day-Fix videos three times a week, to start back into it.

Leave a Reply

