Mother’s Day Thoughts – I’ll be Honest. I’m Frustrated.

I was reading some articles about Mother’s day on a mummy/wifey blog and very many articles, and comments, revolve around the how much people hate it!
I never realized so many people are so up-in-arms about Mother’s Day. I always thought perhaps it was hard for some people who didn’t have their mums with them anymore or who lived too far away to celebrate together.
Turns out, people are flipping their lids because apparently celebrating motherhood is degrading to those who aren’t mothers. Who knew?
Humanity. You’re killing me. Can you just realize for one moment that life isn’t about you??? And this “painful and terrible day that you refuse to be a part of” for a variety of reasons is just not justifiable?
Let me first say that anyone who has ever lived thru a miscarriage or lost a child in any way is already stronger than me; that is one of my greatest fears in life.
But, to me, you are a mother, your child just isn’t with you anymore. Don’t make a lost child (either in the world, or to the world) less than a real child.
I just don’t understand why fellow women would insist that the hardest job on earth isn’t worth being celebrated because it’s “too painful” for you.
And people who are in their late 20s-30s either single, or childless (have never carried or adopted a child) and just can’t handle sitting in a church service where the pastor asks the mums to stand up….and you “just can’t handle it anymore” and stand up?? what??! I don’t understand the pressure to do that…It literally makes zero sense to me.
The struggle of wanting children is real. I understand; I’m a girl too. But why do you have to degrade the greatest responsibility on earth, just because God hasn’t given it to you (yet? Or not in the way you imagined?)
“Real women” don’t have children. “Real women” do have children! Why does that have to define us?? Why do we desire to remove the holiday alltogether because the memory of our children and the love and plan of God isn’t enough for us??
….I guess that’s what it boils down to.

Shared from my Tumblr, @meyla3839

Leave a Reply

