Little Thankfulness Sparks from Today

Each day, no matter how bad, i always have something to be thankful for. A rough Wednesday afternoon? At least i got to be with my adorable preschoolers in the morning. An AWFUL day at Hobby Lobby on Tuesday? At least i got in some good yoga in the morning and ate a pint of ice cream while talking with my manager, Matt, at Wegmans until 10:30 at night afterwords.

Speaking of Wegmans…
I was chilling and just doing my job this afternoon, when one of my other managers, Mike, asked if i was free tomorrow (Tuesday). I told him not really, because i had to be at Hobby Lobby, 1-9ish.
He said morning was exactly what he was looking for, and would i be willing to come in around 7:30-8. Because it’s Mike, and i know he loves me and appreciates my work, I agreed.
We talked for a minute, and he finally cocked his head and asked if i went to school; basically what i did with my life when i wasn’t there. I said i didn’t go to school; I just worked two jobs, and had my own apartment…and a cat. (“haha. ^_^ ” )
He nodded and asked if i was interested in getting full-time.
“Here?” I asked
“Anywhere.” He laughed.
I nodded about six times and said absolutely, I’d love to work full time here.

Something about the grin on his face and the light in his eyeballs made me smile too and i asked what was up. He just said “Good to know…good to know.”
I asked if he had a full-time job for me, and he shook his head and said “No…but i’m gonna push you along. I’m gonna get you full-time here.”

I know he was serious. I have no clue what kind of time-table he’s talking about. But it just kinda made my day; the realization that i have someone at work, who’s watched me, taught me and been there for me, who wants to see me go far there.
It’s exciting, its encouraging and it’s really great to see a company living out the values they claim to have. I love my new job, and i love my friends there so much. Who’d have guessed i’d move to a new state out of nowhere and find my own way, at work…in a grocery store?

I’m stoked. And thrilled to be coming in to work at 7:30 tomorrow morning for one of my favorite managers 🙂 Who wants to see me do well.

Leave a Reply

