Saturday’s Quiet Time – Proverbs 31:10-31

So my college puts out these devotional books called Quiet Times for each year. Today we finished off Proverbs. 🙂 One of the questions it asked was ‘Look at these areas of life, and list how you can grow more in them‘. The list was

Strength
Honor or Dignity
Preparedness
Kind, wise words
Caring Actions
Work Ethic

It was a really eye-opening experience and something i’d like to remember, so i’m writing a more expanded version of what i wrote there, because there wasn’t alot of space…

Strength – I’m a firm believer that this is physical strength as well. Because the ability to discipline one’s self physically, especially in the American culture, is a big deal to being able to discipline one’s self in other ways. So for this, my goals are definitely to continue to strive to eat cleaner, work out consistently, and get more sleep…be less stressed, basically. (because stress is a choice, it’s just a really REALLY hard choice NOT to make) Stress affects so many areas of our life, physically, spiritually and emotionally, and the root of it basically says we don’t trust God enough to care for us, and we need to be running around like chickens with our heads cut off, biting people’s heads off, and getting acne.
Boiling it down into one word? Strength = Trust. The opposite of trust is stress. Thankyou Lord for the strength not to stress.

Honor/ Dignity – For me, i see the opposite of dignity as embarrassment. And embarrassment is inevitable in life, but you can take it in a way that reveals a lack of dignity or an abundance of it; make sense??
My goals for this one is definitely to be more conscientious of my surroundings, so i don’t say or do stupid things, think ahead, and voice my opinions to Marth to keep us both on the same page. And when the inevitable happens, to roll with the punches, always considering the other people involved and making everything as least-awkward as possible! And laughing it off when there’s just no other choice. X’D
One of the greatest things anyone has ever told me was from my best friend Kym. She’s a couple years younger than me and the most chill gangster i’ve ever met! When i would be having a breakdown about how upset or embarrassed i was, or how something didn’t go my way, and how awful i must look, and how everyone must be thinking ________ and _______ about me, she looked me in the face and said “…Nobody thinks that except YOU!”
And over the years i’ve discovered it’s quite true. So when the worst enters my brain and i want to curl in a hole and die, or make a big fuss in front of people, letting them know how embarrassed i am and how awful i must look… “Nobody thinks that except me.”

Preparedness – This mainly applies to finances for me, and also boils down to two points, four words. “Be Wise” and “Plan Ahead”. I LOVE spending money. But i also need to remember i’m taking a week off of work to see my family in Maine, and need money to survive off of after then! Marth and i have been getting way better with money now that he has a car payment…splitting checks and such, looking out for eachother’s spending. It’s honestly a great experience, and i love being able to be his partner as we try to live life better 🙂

Kind, Wise Words – “If you look for the bad in mankind, you will surely find it.” Kind, wise words are important; so much so that they’re even some people’s love languages, the way they receive love best! (Marth is one of those people) My goal for this is definitely to look for the good in people and tell them about it. Tell them i’m proud of them, and mean it. Tell them they’re doing a good job, and mean it. Hold my tongue when something negative enters my mouth. There’s always going to be something to be unkind and rude about it. It’s harder to find kinder things to say, and honestly? Nothing good comes easy.

Caring Actions – I have a hard time with this because i choose sides. I find what’s right, and die beside it. But people doing wrong don’t need you to choose sides, they need confrontation, so then you can all be right. If they’re satisfied with being wrong, they’ll definitely lose a few respect points in my eyes, but then the goal has shifted. You can’t look at it as “she’s wrong, i’m right.” Now you look at it as a human being you love, and want to continue a relationship with. “Love covers a multitude of sins”, my friends. Is it harder? Yeah.
But – say it with me – “NOTHING…GOOD…COMES….EASY.”

Work Ethic – One word – FOCUS. I love people and i love talking to them. For the last several years of my life, i’ve been taught that relationships with people are the most important thing in the world. But the world doesn’t think that way. While i may not agree, if i want to survive in this world, and maintain my relationships with people, worth ethic is a big deal. People are counting on me to get stuff done. That’s where “Working for the Lord and not for men” comes in…It’s not just my manager telling me what to do.

The last question was “What was one area that stuck out to you that you can work on long term?” One Word. Grace. Grace in living, grace towards others, and grace towards the circumstances of life. Roll with the punches, keep the big picture ahead in your brain. Behold…the world yet turns. 🙂

“Grace so amazing; boundless and free! Grace for the broken and sinner like me!! All Glory to Jesus; the Savior who gives grace that is greater than all my sins. Grace that is greater than all my sin.” – Steve Fee ‘Grace’ 

Leave a Reply

